Creating!

A Hungry Caterpilar for a special baby girl!

I’ve always wanted to take a series of progress shots of a painting. I finally got around to it during the creation of a gift for a beautiful baby girl, who is very soon to enter the world.

I do a lot of research before I paint, lots of Googling and consulting books. When I am doing a painting for someone, I also get a feel very early on, for what I’m going to create.

I put a heck of a lot of thought and energy into everything I make, be it writing, photos or painting, and I hope it shows to the recipients.

I’m not perfect, and each project contains its faults, probably more easily spotted by me, but I think that makes it more special!

My girls were working on accompanying projects while I created this piece (and clearly drinking lots of Yakults. We have great gut health here).

It was a fun day. But then again, painting always makes for a fun day.

Without further ado, the creation of The Very Hungry Caterpillar for Baby Carlon.

P1180038

Setting up my makeshift Studio!

P1180040

Bare Canvas

P1180041

Undercoat going on

P1180042

Undercoat down!

P1180044

Bringing sketched ideas to the table

P1180046

Outline begins!

P1180047

Getting it right.

P1180048

Trying to make things even.

P1180050

Getting my lines straight, thanks girls for the ruler.

P1180051

Still ruling, and laughing!

P1180052

Ideas sketched out!

P1180053

Adding some colour.

P1180054

That caterpillar is many shades of green!

P1180055

Making the fruit pop!

Top fruit taking shape!

Top fruit taking shape!

All fruit bases done.

All fruit bases done.

Making sure I've got the colour bands right! Thanks Google.

Making sure I’ve got the colour bands right! Thanks Google.

P1180059

Antenna on!

Eyes coming out!

Eyes coming out!

Popping the eyes.

Popping the eyes.

Eyes coming out!

Detailing eyes and fruit.

Time to cover and play!

Time to cover and play!

Necessity is the mother of invention they say. Thanks for the screwdriver Dan!

Necessity is the mother of invention they say. Thanks for the screwdriver Dan!

P1180066

Spots done!

P1180067

Tape removed from fruit! Looking good!

Adding dots to fill the gaps!

Adding dots to fill the gaps!

Ta Da!!!

Ta Da!!!

I am really looking forward to doing more of these! This project was done in a few hours, I think one done over a few days or weeks would be pretty awesome!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

